Thursday, February 4, 2016

Book Review: The Scarlet Trilogy (A. C. Gaughen)

Ever imagined yourself a swashbuckling outlaw leaping through the forest, inches ahead of the greedy nobility from whom you've just stolen money enough to ensure that your people will withstand another tax season with their heads intact?

No? Just me? Oh, well ... 

For those of you who nodded as you read that descriptor, never fear. There are a number of us, and I imagine one of them is probably author A. C. Gaughen, whose Scarlet trilogy is a tremendously well-written and engaging, and newly re-imagined rendition of the classic story of the hero and outlaw Robin Hood.

The trilogy consists of Scarlet, Lady Thief, and Lion Heart, listed in correct reading order, and trust me when I tell you, you really need to read them in the right order. Otherwise, you'll be thoroughly confused, having been plunged into a melee of intricately crafted subplots peopled with characters compelling enough to walk right off the pages.

My favorite character throughout the series is Scarlet, the title character of the first novel, and the point-of-view character through whose eyes readers experience the entire story line in all three books. She is as three-dimensional and realistic as can be, full of unique qualities, abilities, and contradictions --- like her gruff exterior versus her soft heart for the suffering --- that make her a sympathetic character from the first page.

And anyone who appreciates the original Robin Hood tale will be relieved to know that Gaughen took great pains as she crafted each character, and that she included all the usual suspects, so to speak, from Little John to Friar Tuck, but with her own delightful twists in every individual instance.

It's a delight and a pleasure to present this trilogy to my readers for their consideration, and I can't stress enough how highly I regard the trilogy and its author for its heart-warming, suspenseful, devastating impact.

# # #

Author: A. C. Gaughen
Title: Scarlet
Series: Scarlet (#1)
ISBN: 978-0-8027-2346-8
Purchase here:

Title: Lady Thief
Series: Scarlet (#2)
ISBN: 978-0-8027-3614-7
Purchase here:

Title: Lion Heart
Series: Scarlet (#3)
ISBN: 978-0-8027-3616-1
Purchase here:

Disclaimer: The opinions I have expressed are my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please do not hesitate to leave a comment or a question. Include links to your blog, website, Twitter, and other social media so I can link back!